KSlenderliving

Healthy Recipes and more

Mixing your own Muesli – Summer Muesli and Protein Muesli

I just recently ran over some websites that offer you to mix your own muesli online and they’ll send it to you in less than a week. I certainly liked the idea. Afterall I often bought muesli that I thought was perfect, if only it didn’t contain raisins, bananas or whatever.
So I went online and created my own Muesli at http://www.mymuesli.com but  didn’t order because it costs 11,60€ per lb. That’s insane and I thought I can do this way better and way cheaper at home.

Now there are plenty of benefits of mixing your own muesli. First of course  that you can adjust to your taste. But also you can be sure there are no additional sugars or preservative in it.
As for the price it’s cheaper than ordering it online, but I’m not sure by how much. I did spend around 10 bucks on dried fruits but I didn’t use all of it, not even close. The oatmeal, Fitness Flakes and Wheat bran I had at home but it’s not expensive anyways, should be around 3 bucks and you don’t use all of those either.

As I said above, I did my “Tropical Summer Muesli” on mymuesli.com. other similar pages are http://www.mixmymuesli.com, http://www.mueslimixer.com, http://www.cereal-club.com and probably some more.
Those pages are great for getting ideas, but again I wouldn’t order there.  Just do it at home, takes only a bit more time and you know what is in your breakfast.

Also check out my “Breakfast Ideas”  post for other healthy breakfasts


Tropical Summer Muesli

2 cups Oatmeal
2 cups Fitness Flakes
1/2 cup Wheat bran
1/2 cup Cranberries
1/4 cup Pineapple
1/4 cup Mango
1/4 cup Dates
1/4 cup Sunflower Seeds
1/4 cup granted Coconut
2 tbsp Apples

All fruits mentioned refer to dried, chopped fruits.

There is no real recipe here just mix all the stuff together and you’re done.  A lot of people don’t like dates. I don’t know why, I love them, but if you absolutely can’t stand them, leave them out. You will most likely not taste them in the Muesli though, they just give it a caramel – like taste.

Mix with milk or juice and you’ll great breakfast that tastes kinda exotic and reminds me holidays.

Protein Muesli
1 cup Oatmeal
1 cup Fitness Flakes
1 cup Wheat bran
1/2 cup chopped almonds
1/2 cup Walnuts
1/4 cup poppy seeds
1/2 cup sunflower seeds
1/4 cup cashews
1/4 cup cranberries or raisins

Protein Muesli is tricky, because almost all good things contain more carbs than proteins. But if you combine this with milk it should give a fairly high protein breakfast.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 13, 2012 by in All Recipes, Lunch, Lunch, Lunch, Ordinary, Vegan, Weight Watchers and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Proud member of FoodBlogs
